Brenton S. Halsey, Jr. Memorial Regatta Trophy

Halsey Memorial

A resolution was passed by the Board of Trustees in November 1994 to designate its Annual Labor Day Regatta for Cruising Class Sailboats in honor of Brenton S. Halsey, Jr. The regatta hereinafter shall be designated "The Brenton S. Halsey, Jr. Memorial Regatta." This action was taken because Brenton S. Halsey, Jr. was a long-standing, active, loyal and devoted member of FBYC; because his love of FBYC, Deltaville and the conviviality of sailing companions provided joy and happiness to his many friends and acquaintances; and because his passionate embrace of sailing and yacht racing was an inspiration to his fellow members at the Club who would like to commemorate and honor his spirit. It was further resolved that the Trustees, Officers and Members of the Club would take all necessary and reasonable steps to encourage and promote the Brenton S. Halsey, Jr. Memorial Regatta as a forum for sailboat racing of the highest caliber. In connection with this resolution and honor, the Brenton S. Halsey, Jr. Memorial Trophy was donated to the Club by many of his friends (known as the "Afterguard Group") to be awarded on a perpetual basis to the winner of the Brenton S. Halsey, Jr. Memorial Regatta.

In 1999, the name of the regatta was changed at the request of the Halsey family to "Stingray Point Light Regatta." In 2000, the name of the regatta was changed to the "Stingray Point Regatta.

1995    Kathy Whittle - FBYC
1996   Bill Peach - HYC
1997   F. Case Whittemore - FBYC
1998   Sledd Shelhorse - HYC
1999   Will Crump - FBYC
2000   Mike Ironmonger – SMSA
2001   F. Case Whittemore - FBYC
2002   Neal Garrett – HYC
2003   Paul Andersen - FBYC
2004   Mike Austin - HYC
2005   Lloyd E. Griffin Jr. -OBSA
2006   J. Bradley Davis - FBYC
2007   Christian Schaumloffel - HYC
2008   Jerry Latell - FBYC
2009   Paul T. Cross III - FBYC
2010   David Alexander - HYC
2011   Dennis Hannick - DYC
2012   The Prophet Syndicate - Skipper Blake Kimbrough - FBYC
2013   Michael W. Dale - FBYC
2014   Robert Fleck - FBYC
2015   Blakely Kimbrough - FBYC
2016   Not Awarded
Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-776-9636

Contact Webmasters