

Fishing Bay Yacht Club Awards

Offshore Division

Performance Trophy Glenn Doncaster

Nanuq

Windward Start Bob and Lisa Fleck

Mad Hatter

Barber Trophy Julie Ann and Paul Wash

Cheeky Monkey

One Design Division

Baker Bowl John and Sharon Wake

Nott Memorial Trophy Phil Webb

Hicks Trophy John and Sharon Wake



Junior Awards

Presented by Rear Commodore Joe Roos

With assistance from Jason Angus

Henry E. Hutcheson Trophy



Award of the trophy is for outstanding performance in the one-design award class for the season

Bo Angus

Young Salt Trophy



Awarded to the Junior member sailing an Optimist who has the highest overall standing in the FBYC Junior Regattas.

Aiden Ministri

The L. Wood Bedell Trophy



To be awarded annually to a member of the Junior Sailing Program under the age of 14 and has placed highest in FBYC races during the Regular Racing Season. The CBYRA one-design high point system will be used to determine the highest finisher.

Opti: Clarke Garrett Laser: Noah Wensell

Junior Competition Trophy



Awarded annually to the Junior skipper, enrolled with the Yacht Club, who have most successfully represented the Yacht Club in sailboat racing events conducted by other yacht clubs or associations during the Regular Racing Season.

Opti: Bo Angus Laser: Andrew Ciszewski

C420: Walker Angus and Mason Chapman

The Reid A. Dunn Trophy



Awarded annually to the member of the Junior Program between the ages of 14 and 18 who has demonstrated outstanding sailing abilities by placing highest in FBYC races during the Regular Racing Season.

Laser: Andrew Ciszewski C420: Walker Angus and Mason Chapman

The Roberts Bowl



The award is made annually to the member of the Junior Program who has shown the most interest in sailing as evidenced by enthusiasm, improvement in sailing techniques, awareness of the rules of water safety, and cooperation with the members of the Junior Activities program.

Opti: Stephen Utley

Laser: Josh Bendura

c420: Georgia Wensell and Charlotte Staas

The Caroline Collins Trophy



This trophy is to be awarded to the Young Lady who has the highest standing in the Junior Regatta's competition.

Opti: Madeleine Garrett

Laser: Baylor Goldthwaite

C420: Mae Wallace Angus and Eleanor Patterson

Up and Coming Trophy



The UP AND COMING TROPHY recognizes young Development Team sailors with great potential as sailors and team members; and who have a great future at FBYC

Cyrus Garrett

BECCA BOAT TROPHY



Presented in 2008 in memory of Rebecca "Becca" Clary Harris, a former FBYC junior, by her parents, Richard and Kay Clary. This award is given each year to the female FBYC junior who most exemplifies Becca's devotion to FBYC.

Anne-Kinsey Wash

One Design, Offshore and Cruising Division Sailing Awards

Presented by Vice Commodore

Elizabeth Staas



The Patrick A. Gibson Memorial Trophy



This award is for the one-design class that has the highest percent of participation in Club events.

Flying Scot

The Blanton Bowl



The BLANTON BOWL was presented to the club in 1951 by Mr. R. E. B. Blanton. Today it is awarded to the Laser skipper with the highest standing in Sanctioned Regattas and intra-club races.

Britt Drake

Wayland W. Rennie Cruising Trophy



Awarded to a Fishing Bay Yacht Club member for support of the Cruising Division and for cruising the Chesapeake Bay with a sense of adventure in comradeship with fellow sailors.

Nancy Glinn Powell

The Competition Trophy



Since 1981, the COMPETITION TROPHY has been presented to the skipper or skippers who most successfully represented FBYC at racing events conducted by others, taking into consideration the character of the events, the quality of the competition and the performance of the recipient. Former Commodore Bev Crump donated this trophy in that year and in 2015 graciously underwrote a totally new trophy which includes all past winners and has room for many more.

Britt Drake

The Offshore Division Championship Trophy



Presented in 1980 by former Commodore Brenton S. Halsey as a perpetual award to recognize the skipper of the outstanding Cruising Class (renamed Offshore Division) yacht as determined by an objective standard applied over the Regular Racing Season. The award shall be made to the skipper, who is a member of Fishing Bay Yacht Club, of an enrolled Offshore Division yacht as determined by the CBYRA High Point scoring formula in FBYC sponsored races. Only Offshore events that offer starts in all offshore classes will be used in awarding this trophy.

Bob Fleck

The Allen B. Fine Trophy



This trophy is to be awarded to the outstanding crew member of **an FBYC** registered yacht

Randy Alley

The Clinard Cup



This award was donated by former Commodore Noel Clinard. It is awarded to an FBYC J-70 yacht for both participation and performance in FBYC events and J-70 Class travel events.

Mike Karn Inconceivable

Special Sailing Awards

Presented by Commodore

Tracy Schwarzschild



The Hubard Trophy



Awarded annually to the outstanding woman sailor of Fishing Bay Yacht Club. The criteria shall include dedication, participation, and performance and sportsmanship in sailing.

Louise Moore

Annual Race Committee Award



Awarded annually to the Fishing Bay Yacht Club member who has made the greatest contribution to race committee work and race management at FBYC.

David and Veronica Hinckle

The Commodores' Bowl



The COMMODORE'S BOWL was presented in 1949 by the Commodores of the Club who held office from its organization in 1938 to 1949. The award is made annually to the outstanding Skipper in Fishing Bay Yacht Club-sponsored sailing events for the year, based upon performance and participation. The Commodores' Bowl is awarded on an alternating year basis to the Offshore and One-Design Divisions, starting in 1976 with the One-Design Division.

John Wake Flying Scot

Matthew Fontaine Maury Bowl



The Matthew Fontaine Maury Bowl is the highest honor Fishing Bay Yacht Club awards. The Bowl is awarded by the Board of Trustees of the Fishing Bay Yacht Club to members for outstanding contributions to FBYC.

Kathryn and Jason Angus

Piankatank Trophy



This perpetual award recognizes the skipper or yacht, enrolled in the Club Register, whose actions during the sailing season best exemplify the principle that "all is not lost until the boat sinks."

Chris Lindbloom

THEEND

Fair winds to you for 2020...

EST. 1939

DELTAVILLE VA

