Smith Point DS #4


Sat, Aug 21 2021


Event Managers

  • Race Chair: Case Whittemore
  • Social Chair: Debbie Johnson

Saturday, August 21, 2021

NOTICE The event information below, used in conjunction with the Series Event NoticeOffshore General Notice of Race, comprises the complete NOTICE OF RACE for the event.

DESCRIPTION This event will consist of one race for PHRF SPINNAKER A, B, C, NON-SPIN & Limited Crew (sailboats holding valid PHRF of the Chesapeake PHRF certificates), CHESS, and CRUISING (having handicap ratings issued by FBYC).  PHRF NON-SPIN will be sailed allowing only one (1) headsail downwind. This race is the fourth race of the Long Distance Series.

SAFETY Sailboats shall comply with US Sailing  "Safety Equipment Requirements" (SER) Nearshore category with additional requirements of 

SER 2.3.1, Head or fitted bucket
SER 2.4.1, Lifelines
SER 2.5.1, Bilge Pump
SER 2.7.2, Propulsion (4 hour min)
SER 3.2.1, Jacklines
SER 3.7.1, Life sling
SER 3.1.4, GPS
SER 3.15, GPS with electronic MOB
SER 3.2, Paper chart back-up
SER 3.22, Wood plugs
SER 3.24.1, Searchlight
SER 3.26, Radar reflector
SER 3.27.1, Two buckets with lanyards
SER 3.32, Cockpit knife
SER 3.35, No aloft halyards
SER 3.36, Boom support

In the event of a conflict between the SER and applicable class rules, the class rules shall govern.


PROGRAM A Skippers’ Meeting may be conducted by radio on VHF Channel 72 by the Race Committee at 1300 hours at the discretion of the PRO. Race awards will be given at a brunch at the main clubhouse Sunday, August 12, at 10:00 AM, or as soon as all boats have finished, whichever occurs last. In addition, the Smith Point Crab Society award is awarded to the skipper who competes and has finished the most Smith Point races. Social program and awards may be altered due to covid.

WARNING The warning signal for the first class will be at 1400 hours.

STARTING AREA The starting area will be in the vicinity of FBYC "C". The starting line will be between a special buoy “X” and the orange or yellow flag on the Committee Boat.

COURSE The first mark of the course may be (1) special buoy “Y”, or (2) a government mark listed in Appendix A. After rounding the first mark of the course, yachts shall sail the remaining marks of the designated course as set forth below. 

If no additional first mark is specified, yachts shall sail the marks of the appropriate course as set forth below.

COURSE A                         APROX. 44.4NM

Marks of Course        Leave to:
Piankatank R. R"2" Fl R 4s (FBYC "F") Port
Windmill Point Lt Fl 6s 31 ft 6 M (FBYC “I”) Port
Smith Point Lt Fl 10s 52ft 18M Horn (FBYC “U”) Port
Windmill Point Lt Fl 6s 31 ft 6 M (FBYC “I”)  Starboard
Piankatank R. R “2” Fl R 4s (FBYC “F”)  Starboard
Piankatank R. Fl G 4s 15ft 4M "5"(FBYC “A”) Port

COURSE B                         APPROX. 33.2NM

Marks of Course Leave to:
Ches.Bay RW "CB" Mo(A) Whistle (FBYC “Q”)  Port
Ches Bay G “57” Fl G 4s Gong (FBYC “S”) Port
Piankatank R. R “2” Fl R 4s (FBYC “F”) Starboard
Piankatank R. Fl G 4s 15ft 4M "5" (FBYC “A”) Port


FINISH LINE Between Piankatank R. Fl G 4s 15ft 4M "5" (FBYC “A”) and the orange or yellow flag on a Race Committee Boat stationed north of FBYC “A”. If a Race Committee Boat is not on station at the finish, finishing boats must leave FBYC “A” to port by no more than 25 yards, and record their own time when FBYC “A” bears 180 degrees magnetic from the helmsman’s position, and, if possible, record the names, sail numbers and approximate finish times of the boats finishing immediately ahead and behind. This information should be passed along to the Race Committee Chairman as soon as possible after returning to the dock.

TIME LIMIT The race will be valid for all boats in a class or subclass if (a) one boat in a class or subclass sailing course A finishes within twenty one (21) hours of the actual start time of the race for that class or subclass; (b) one boat in a class or subclass sailing Course B finishes within sixteen (16) hours of the actual start time for that class or subclass. The time limit for the remaining boats in any class or subclass shall be three (3) hours after the first boat in the class or subclass finishes a valid race.

PROTEST TIME Protests must be filed no later than one hour after the last boat to finish within its time limit.

CBYRA SANCTION This race is sanctioned for CBYRA High Point awards.

Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-776-9636

Contact Webmasters