Posts for April 2002

Text of the Commissioning Prayer - April 13, 2002

Bev Crump on

New Building
bishop Commissioning Prayer Fishing Bay Yacht Club Clubhouse Dedication
April 13, 2002 by Rt. Rev. F. Clayton Matthews

We thank you, Almighty God, for the gift of water. Over it the Holy Spirit moved in the beginning of creation. On the third day of creation, you divided the waters from the land, and in the fullness of time came the ancestral waters of the Chesapeake Bay, the Piankatank River, Fishing Bay, and Jackson Creek. Bodies of water upon which we recreate and through which we sail. We present here from these four bodies of water. We ask you to sanctify this water by your creative power so that it may be a sign of the desire we have for you to …

Opening Day Regatta Photos now available

Strother Scott on

Offshore Racing
Dave Dunigan took a number of photographs on Opening Day weekend of offshore boats using the following
  • Film; Fuji Provia 100F Pro Fine Grain Transparancy Film
  • Cameras: Nikon F-4, Nikon F-100, Nikon F-3, Cannon A-1
  • Lenses: Nikkor 80-200 f2.8ED, Nikkor 80-400ED f4.5VR, Nikkor 24 f2.8D


    I have also set up web pages for individual boats on the Yachts web page. Associated with each boat is a "Photos" page listing the photos of that boat. The boats with new photo pages include Blade Runner, Jaguar, Legacy, Loose Cannon, Patriot, Tittalation, Trilogy, Wavelength, Whiskey Tango. Additional photos can be added at the bottom of each photo page by members with passwords.

    If anyone wishes to purchase the high quality …

  • New Clubhouse - 25 past Commodores assemble as the ribbon is CUT

    Strother Scott on

    New Building
    commodoressmall Twenty-five Past Commodores assembled for the Commissioning Ceremony in front of the new Clubhouse.

    They are - left to right: Peter Roughton 1959-1960, Bob Wardwell 1998, Waddy Garrett 1993, David Lee 1996, Billy Perkins 1987, Happy Hubard 1989, Frank Hargrove 1969, Bill Spencer 1994, John Hawksworth 1986, Case Whittemore 1988, Mrs. Allen R. Potts widow of Alan Potts 1971, Strother Scott 2001-2002, Wayland Rennie 1985, Brent Halsey 1977, Tim Blackwood 1978, Whitey Lipscomb 1991, Russ Collins 1992, Judy Buis 1999, Jim Rogers 1983, Mike Karn 2000, Bob Rock 1990, Bev Crump 1982, Herb Potts 1956, Jim Reid 1976, Hiram Pritchard 1974, Jere Dennison 1975, David Hazlehurst Rear 2001-2002, and Dick Cole Vice Commodore 2001-2002.

    At the right rear are Bill Egelhoff …

    Spectators Welcome at J/29 Invitational Regatta

    Case Whittemore on

    Social Events
    The sixth annual FBYC J/29 Invitational Regatta will be held on Friday-Sunday, April 19-21. This regatta continues to attract the best J/29 sailors on the east coast. This year at least 15 boats are expected, including a boat from Ontario, Canada. The quality of racing and competition at this regatta is extraordinary. It is a great opportunity for the Club’s hard-core racers, would-be racers and cruisers to come out and see some exciting competition. Seeing four J/29s keeping their spinnakers up to the last instant and then rounding the leeward mark four-wide is exciting both for the competitors and the spectators. And of course the starts are always full of action. There will be 3 or …

    Old Dominion Monarchs Rule the Sea

    Jim Cobb on

    Club News
    Old Dominion goes to Hawaii. The other three Cobbs' tag along.annacobbOld Dominion recently qualified for the team nationals to be sailed at U. of Hawaii in early June. Anna Cobb, former Jr. Coach at FBYC, currently a coach at NYYC, is a member of the qualifying team. She is crew for Matt Allen from Beverly, MA. Also on the team are All Americans Brad Funk and Liz Biond, team captains Debbie Capozi and Ryan Thorvaldsen. Kenney, Jim and Malcolm plan to join Anna and her team in Honolulu. ODU is one of the premire sailing teams in the U.S. Check out the ODU Sailing Team web site for all the details.

    Opening Day Race Committee

    David Hazlehurst on

    Offshore Racing
    We continue to make progress in staffing our race Committees so that members who want to race are not recruited for this duty. But members who choose not to race can share in the on the water excitement with minimal preparation and get back to shore before most of the particiants. But most importantly, those who do race committee duty provide a service that allows others to race, and equally important complete one of the two duty days we ask all members to give each year. Please say yes when a race committe chairperson asks for our help, you'll enjoy your day on the water.

    For Opening Day we have a mix of experience levels with a group of …

    Commissioning Dinner Oversubscribed Overflow seating available through Monday April 8.

    Strother Scott on

    Social Events
    The April 1 deadline for reservations for the dinner following the Commissioning on Opening Day has passed and we have received far more reservations that we ever expected. We have expanded our seating by 75% but we are at capacity for reserved seating and for Chef Alain Vincey and his staff. As a result, we must cut off reservations to the $25 per person "Chef Alain Vincey Dinner" at the 300 adults already on board as of Monday night's count. Those 300 adult guests will have dinner in 3 tents which will surround the downstairs screen porch.   

    We will extend reservations for another week  for overflow seating and eating in the Junior Tent, which will be erected on the …

    Fishing Bay Yacht Club
    Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
    Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

    Phone Numbers: Club House 804-776-9636

    Contact Webmasters