J/70 Clinard Cup


Presented in 2015 by Commodore R. Noel Clinard, founding Fleet Captain of J/70 Fleet 5 and registrant of FBYC's first J/70 yacht, in memory of the travel and local campaigns of J/70 USA 46 Loonatictu€ and her crews. The award is for outstanding performance and participation in J/70 regattas at FBYC and elsewhere, and will be awarded to the boat with the highest number of points in the specified events selected by the presiding J/70 Fleet Captain or his/her designee. Points are determined by a modified high points system and individual boat standings in each event. For events other than FBYC Friday Night Series, boats will be scored based on their standings in relation to other FBYC boats. For example, the first place boat in a specified event with 8 FBYC entrants would get 8 points for that event; the second place boat in that event would get 7 points, etc., with the eighth place finisher receiving 1 point. However, for the Stingray Point Regatta, the J/70 World Championship,and the J/70 North American Championship, the points awarded are double what they otherwise would have been, so that the first place boat is awarded points equal to two times the number of FBYC participants. For example, if there are 8 FBYC boats at the Stingray Point Regatta, the first place boat would get 16 points, the second place boat would get 14 points, etc., with the eighth place finisher receiving 2 points. This award will be retired if the J/70 Fleet loses FBYC fleet status, or at any time at the discretion of the FBYC Board of Trustees.


2015    E.L.E. Matt Braun & Family     
2016    Matthew J. Braun
2017   Blake & Lud Kimbrough & Crew
2018   Clark Dennison
Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-776-9636

Contact Webmasters