Spring Series 1


Sat, Apr 26 2003



Event Managers

  • Race Chair: Frank Murphy
  • Social Chair: Sarah Carneal


APRIL 26, 27, MAY 3 & 17, 2003


This series will consist of multiple races on four race days.

On May 3, FBYC’s spring series races will be conducted jointly with Rappahannock River Yacht Club’s Spring Regatta and will be run in the Rappahannock River in the vicinity of Mosquito Point.

Planned format for PHRF SPIN is two round-the-buoys races on Saturday, April 26 and Saturday May 3; one medium distance race Sunday, April 27 and Saturday May 17.

Planned format for MORC will be the same as for PHRF SPIN except that three or more round-the-buoys races will be substituted for the medium distance races on Sunday, April 27 and Saturday, May 17.

Planned format for NON-SPINNAKER will be one medium distance race around government and drop marks each race day. PHRF Non Spinnaker will be sailed allowing only one (1) headsail downwind. On May 3, the PHRF Non Spinnaker class will have two subclasses, Single Headsail and Double Headsail. The Double Headsail subclass shall be allowed two (2) headsails downwind. The subclasses will start together and sail the same courses.

The Race Committee may change the format on any day to insure that sufficient races are completed to constitute a series.


Awards will be presented for each race completed and refreshments will be provided by FBYC after each day’s races. Overall awards for the series will be presented during the Urbanna Race awards ceremony at Rosegill on Saturday, May 24, 2003.

Warning Signal

The warning signal for the first race each day will be at 1100 hours, except on Saturday May 3, when the warning signal for the first race will be at 1230 hours.

Subsequent races

On days on which multiple races are planned, the Race Committee will signal its intention to run additional races by displaying Code Flag "R" at the finish line. If Code Flag "R" is flying at the finish, competitors who have finished should remain in the vicinity of the Committee Boat, but keep clear of the finish line until their new starting sequence has commenced. Code Flag "R" will be lowered with a sound signal one (1) minute before the Warning Signal for the first class start of the subsequent race.


On April 26, April 27 and May 17, the Committee Boat could be anywhere from Piankatank R. G "5" (FBYC "A"), to Piankatank R. Lt. R "2" Fl R 4s (FBYC "F") or beyond.

On May 3, the starting area will be in the vicinity of Mosquito Point (RR Lt "8R" Fl R 2.5s 5m).


These course instructions apply to all races. It will be the responsibility of the skipper to locate the Committee Boat and to allow sufficient time to reach the starting area.

If conditions warrant, the Race Committee will fly Code Flags "F" over "B" when leaving the dock and hail on Channel 72 indicating its intention to race in Fishing Bay and the adjacent Piankatank River.

The starting and finishing lines will be between the orange or yellow flag on the Committee Boat and either a government mark listed in Appendix A, special buoy "X", or a drop-mark pursuant to Appendix D.

Courses for the NON-SPINNAKER class on April 27 shall, to the extent practicable under the conditions, utilize government marks to produce courses that offer a variety of points of sail and are not limited to windward/leeward courses.


Round-the-Buoys Races – If one boat in a class finishes within two (2) hours after the start for that class, then the race will be valid for all boats in that class.

Medium Distance Races (Including Non-Spinnaker race on April 27)– If one boat in a class finishes by 1700 hours, then the race will be valid for all boats in that class.


The Spring Series winner in each class (i.e., PHRF SPIN, MORC, or NON-SPINNAKER) will be the boat having the lowest total point score for the series. A boat may qualify for winning regardless of the number of races she has started. If six or more races are completed for PHRF SPIN or MORC, or five or more races for NON-SPINNAKER, then each boat in that class will be allowed to throw out their worst race.


Each race in the Series is sanctioned as a separate event for CBYRA High Point awards.

Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-889-2327

Contact Webmasters