Fall Series 2


Sat, Sep 29 2007


Event Managers

  • Race Chair: Mike Karn


September 23 & 29 and October 14 & 20 2007


This series will consist of multiple races on four days for PHRF A, PHRF B/C, and PHRF NON-SPIN.

Planned format for PHRF SPIN will be two or more round-the-buoys races each day.

Planned format for PHRF NON-SPIN may be one daily medium distance race around drop and government marks as listed in Appendix A, or one or more round the buoys races each day. PHRF NON-SPIN will be sailed allowing only one (1) headsail downwind.

The Race Committee may alter the format on any race day as conditions warrant or to attempt to provide a series of at least eight races for each spinnaker class and four races for PHRF NON-SPIN over the four days of racing.


Awards will be presented for each race completed and refreshments will be provided by FBYC after each day’s races. Overall awards for the series will be presented after the Closing Day Regatta.


The warning signal for the first race each day will be at 1100.


These course instructions apply to all races. It will be the responsibility of the skipper to locate the Committee Boat. It could be anywhere from Piankatank R. G “5” (FBYC “A”), to Piankatank R. Lt. R “2” Fl R 4s (FBYC “F”) or beyond.

If conditions warrant, the Race Committee will fly Code Flags “F” over “B” when leaving the dock on Jackson Creek and hail on Channel 72 indicating its intention to race in Fishing Bay and the adjacent Piankatank River.

Courses for PHRF NON-SPIN shall, to the extent practicable under the conditions, utilize government marks to produce courses which offer a variety of points of sail and are not limited to windward/leeward courses.


The starting and finishing lines will be between the orange or yellow flag on the Committee Boat and a drop-mark “X” pursuant to Appendix D.


PHRF SPIN - If one boat in a class finishes within two (2) hours after the start for that class, then the race will be valid for all boats in that class.

PHRF NON SPIN -. If one boat in a class finishes within two (2) hours after the start for that class, then the race will be valid for all boats in that class.


The Fall Series winner in each class (i.e., PHRF SPIN and PHRF NON-SPIN) will be the boat having the lowest total point score for the series. A boat may qualify for winning regardless of the number of races she has started. If nine or more races are completed for the PHRF SPIN or classes, or five or more for PHRF NON-SPIN class, each boat in that class will be allowed to discard their worst race.


Each day in the Series is a sanctioned event for CBYRA High Point awards.

Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-889-2327

Contact Webmasters