Spring Series 2


Sun, Apr 20 2008


Event Managers

  • Race Chair: Brooks Zerkel


April 20, 27 & May 10, 2008


This series will continue with multiple races on three days for PHRF A, PHRF B/C, PHRF NON-SPIN, and a CRUISING CLASS (non-spin) should interest warrant.

Planned format will be two or more around-the-buoys races each day.

PHRF NON-SPIN (and Cruising Class) will be sailed allowing only one (1) headsail downwind.

The Race Committee may alter the format on any race day as conditions warrant or to attempt to provide a series of at least eight races for each spinnaker class and four races for PHRF NON-SPIN over the four days of racing in the series.


Awards will be presented for each dayís races and refreshments will be provided by FBYC after each dayís races. Overall awards for the series will be presented during the Urbanna Race awards ceremony at Rosegill on Saturday, May 24, 2008.

Warning Signal

The warning signal for the first race each day will be at 1100 hours.

Subsequent races

Multiple races are planned each day for PHRF SPIN and possibly for NON SPIN (and CRUISING CLASS).


The Committee Boat could be anywhere from Piankatank R. G “5” (FBYC “A”), to Piankatank R. Lt. R “2” Fl R 4s (FBYC “F”) or beyond. 


These course instructions apply to all races. It will be the responsibility of the skipper to locate the Committee Boat and to allow sufficient time to reach the starting area.

If conditions warrant, the Race Committee will fly Code Flags “F” over “B” when leaving the dock and hail on Channel 72 indicating its intention to race in Fishing Bay and the adjacent Piankatank River.

The starting and finishing lines will be between the orange or yellow flag on the Committee Boat and a drop-mark “X” pursuant to Appendix D.


PHRF SPIN - If one boat in a class finishes within two (2) hours after the start for that class, then the race will be valid for all boats in that class.

NON-SPIN (and CRUISING) -  If one boat in a class finishes within two (2) hours after the start for that class, then the race will be valid for all boats in that class.


The Spring Series winner in each class (i.e., PHRF SPIN,  NON-SPINNAKER or Cruising) will be the boat having the lowest total point score for the series. A boat may qualify for winning regardless of the number of races she has started. If eight or more races are completed for any class, then each boat in that class will be allowed to throw out their worst race.


Each day in the Series is sanctioned as a separate event for CBYRA High Point awards (except Cruising Class).

Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-889-2327

Contact Webmasters