Opening Day


Sat, Apr 16 2011



Event Managers

  • Event Chair: S.B. Londrey
  • Race Chair: Brooks Zerkel
  • Social Chair: Jef Londrey

Opening Day Regatta

April 16, 2011


This regatta will consist of one race for PHRF A, PHRF B, PHRF C, and PHRF NON-SPIN sailboats holding valid PHRF of the Chesapeake Category 4P, 5P or 6P certificates, and CRUISING Class sailboats having a handicap rating assigned by FBYC.

Planned format for PHRF SPIN, PHRF NON-SPIN and CRUISING will be one medium distance race around government and drop marks. PHRF NON-SPIN will be sailed allowing only one (1) headsail downwind.


On Saturday, April 16, the Blessing of the Fleet will begin at 1700 hours, followed by awards and refreshments provided by FBYC. Dinner and entertainment will begin at 1830 hours.

Skipper’s Meeting

There will be a Flag Raising and Skipper’s Meeting at 0900 hours at the flagpole adjacent to the Jackson Creek parking lot to review any changes to the GSIs and SSIs for the offshore races.


The warning signal for the first start will be at 1100.


The Committee Boat could be anywhere from Piankatank R. G “5” (FBYC “A”) and Piankatank R. Lt. R “2” Fl R 4s (FBYC “F”) or beyond.

Time limit

If one boat in a class finishes within five (5) hours of the actual start time of the race for that class, then the race will be valid for all boats in that class.

Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-889-2327

Contact Webmasters