Wolf Trap Race (Long Distance Series)


Sat, Sep 14 2013


Event Managers

  • Race Chair: Brooks Zerkel
  • Social Chair: Greg Watt


September 14, 2013

NOTICE The event information below, used in conjunction with the General Offshore Notice of Race, comprises the complete NOTICE OF RACE for the event.

description The Wolf Trap Race consists of a fixed course distance race for PHRF SPINNAKER A, B & C, PHRF NON-SPIN sailboats holding valid PHRF of the Chesapeake Category 4P certificates, and FBYC CRUISING sailboats having handicap ratings issued by FBYC.  This race is the fourth race of the Distance Series.

PHRF NON-SPIN will be sailed allowing only one (1) headsail downwind.

PROGRAM There will be a dinner and the awards in the clubhouse following this race. Awards for the Long Distance Series will be given at the Annual Awards ceremony.

Warning Signal The warning signal will be at 1100.

STARTING AREA Between Piankatank R. G “5” (FBYC “A”) and the Piankatank R. Lt. QR 15 4M “6” (FBYC “B).

COURSE The first mark of the course will be either (1) special buoy “Y” located to windward or on the approximate magnetic course from the Committee Boat as may be displayed by numeral pennants or digits shown on the Committee Boat or (2) a government mark listed in Appendix A.  The Committee Boat will display either a “Y” or other letter to designate the government mark. After rounding the first mark of the course, yachts shall sail the remaining marks of the appropriate course as set forth below unless otherwise specified by the Race Committee.

course A –  APProx. 24.6 NM

MarkS of Course                                                                                  Leave to:

Piankatank R. Lt. Fl G 4s 19ft 4M “3” PA (FBYC “C”)                         Starboard

Milford Haven Lt. G “1MH” Fl G 4s (FBYC “M”)                                  Starboard

Wolf Trap Lighthouse Fl 15s 52ft 14M (FBYC “O”)                                         Port

Milford Haven Lt. G “1MH” Fl G 4s (FBYC “M”)                                            Port

Piankatank R. Lt. Fl G 4s 19ft 4M “3” PA (FBYC “C”)                                   Port

FINISH LINE Between Piankatank R. Lt. QR 15’ 4M “6” (FBYC “B”) and the orange or yellow flag on the Committee Boat stationed north of FBYC “B”. If the Committee Boat is not on station at the finish, leave FBYC “B” to port, and take your own time when you are within 25 yards of FBYC “B” and it bears 180º magnetic from the helmsman’s position. This information should be passed along to the Race Committee Chairman as soon as possible after returning to the dock.

TIME LIMIT If one boat in a class finishes within thirteen (13) hours of the actual start time of the race for that class, then the race will be valid for all boats in that class.  The time limit for remaining boats shall be two (2) hours after the first boat in their class or subclass finishes a valid race.

PROTEST TIME Protests must be filed no later than two hours after the last boat to finish within its time limit.

CBYRA SANCTION: This race is sanctioned for CBYRA High Point awards.

Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-776-9636

Contact Webmasters