Lin Mccarthy on Monday October 9, 2006 11:41AM

The 2006 Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta Winner is JOE WATERS in Buckwheat.  Joe Waters finished first in Sunday's pursuit race at the 2006 Turkey Shoot and thereby earned the right to represent Turkey Shoot at the 2007 National Hospice Championship Regatta in Annapolis.   106 boats were entered in the regatta.  Saturday's racing was abandoned due to weather. 
Even the intrepid Laser sailors were washed out on Saturday.  Jon Deutsch reports that half of the competitors could not reach the site of the District 11 Laser Championship Regatta, Fishing Bay Yacht Club,  because of high water.  They made up for the lost time on Sunday, though, and 24 racers got in 6 races.  Henry Amthor (Hampton YC) won the event (3-1-2-2-3-[5]) and two Severn SA members, Mike Waters and Ted Morgan finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.
SEA STAR, COOL CHANGE, ROUNDABOUT, and IMPULSE - CCV FALL SERIES FLEET WINNERS:  First out on the Hampton Roads race course after the Friday/Saturday Nor'easter of damaging proportions, CCV Fall Series racers battled cloudy skies, winds in the 20 knots sustained range, and, once the current began to ebb, square waves.  Thirty-one boats and crews took on the tough conditions to finish up the 15 race CCV season.  When all was said and done, most made it through both races without any busted gear or damaged crew, although a masseuse would have done a brisk business at the post-race party.   SERIES RESULTS:  PHRF A (15 boats) 1.David Eberwine, Sea Star; 2.Sledd Shelhorse, Meridian; 3.Sanford Richardson, Kahuna.  PHRF B (9 boats): 1.Rusty Burshell, Cool Change; 2.Dave McConaughy, White Boat; 3.Larry Preddy, PF Flyer.  PHRF C (10 boats): 1.Alan Bomar, Roundabout; 2.Ben Cuker, Callinectes; 3.Dave Taylor, Midmorning Buzz.  PHRF Non-Spin (5 boats): 1.Tom Peddy, Impulse; 2.Jake Brodersen, Midnight Mistress; 3.Rodney Paice, Wiki Wiki.  PRO-John McCarthy; Timer/Scorer-Dick Boykin; Mark Boats - Bill Gibbings and Malcolm Brady.
Midmorning Buzz wins 2006 J/24 District 6 Championship Series:   Dave Taylor and the Buzz boys and gals won the J24  championship series, comprised of the Pink Moon Regatta, Southern Bay Race Week, and Annapolis Race Week,  with a total points tally of 117 over 16 races (including 2 DNC's at ARW).  Chris Crockett (Crockadero) was second overall with 173.5, and Pat FitzGerald (Civil War) 3rd with 200.5.  This is the first year that Fleet 71, Buzz 's home fleet, has been included  in the District 6 championship standings.  BZ (well done) to the Buzzers!
And, the winners of the "I'm goin' racing no matter what!" Award are...Rodney Paice and the crew of Wiki Wiki.  Wiki Wiki sails out of Portsmouth Boat Club  and the Pearson 26 makes the trip (approximately 10 miles one-way) out the Elizabeth River just to get to the race course in Hampton Roads.   Yesterday, to make that trip against a strong NorthEast breeze took a whole lot of d-e-s-i-r-e!
Sea Star, the Eberwine J/36,  was tied for 2nd place in the CCV Fall Series at the beginning of yesterday's racing. She took two firsts to capture the series title in PHRF A.  At the start of the day Meridian and Cash Flow were tied for 1st with 10 points and Sea Star and Kahuna had 11. 
3rd Annual Neptune's Atlantic Race:  Twenty-nine boats stuck their bows into the bluewater of the Atlantic at Cape Henry and sailed along the oceanfront to the finish line in front of the Old Coast Guard Station.  The race is the spinoff of the old Chesapeake-Atlantic Race that back in the day presented southern Bay racers a chance to "sail in the ocean."  The NAR is sponsored by Broad Bay Sailing Association in conjunction with the City of Virginia Beach's Neptune Festival.  The 2006 version ran on Saturday, September 30.   RESULTS:  PHRF A (5 boats): 1.Sledd Shelhorse, Meridian 2; 2.Christian Schaumloffel, Mirage; 3.Jim Williams, Treaty of Ghent.  PHRF C (6 boats): 1.Ben Cuker, Callinectes; 2.Dana Dillon, Amarylyn; 3.Martin Casey, Bowmovement.  PHRF Non-Spin (11 boats): 1.Rodney Paice, Wiki Wiki; 2.Sonny Smith, Restless VIII; 3.Leo Wardrup, Black Widow.  Cruising (7 boats): 1.Tom Pantelides, Mazi; 2.J. Casazza, Miss Teak; 3.C. Porter, Scroundel.   PRO - Scott Almond.
HYC Singlehand Race (Sunday, October 1, 2006):  Alone, but not alone. Sixteen skippers, 32 hands, 160 toes (probably), cruised around the course in Hampton Roads on a balmy Sunday.  In addition to testing each skipper's versatility, the event tested each one's frustration level - no crew to holler at or order around, you see!   There were two divisions and all boats sailed a 6.33 mile course.  Division 1 (5 boats):  1.Phil Briggs, Feather; 2.Greg Cutter, Gremlyn; 3.Dixon Wilde, Kingfisher.  Division 2 (11 boats):  1.Dave Bettis, Boo Nasty; 2.Dave Revill, Morning Calm; 3.Brendan Drinkwater, Roswell.  Race Chairmen - Malcolm and Kathy Brady. 
Here it comes - The  'ROUND THE LIGHTS RACE - October 21, 2006 (Saturday).  Sponsored by Old Point Comfort Yacht Club, sanctioned by CBYRA (event #429).  A pursuit race (slower boats start first), and you go around both lighthouses, Thimble Shoal and Middle Ground, in whichever order you choose.  Great race, great fun, great post-race sailor-socializing!  Contact Dennis Miner (867-1028), or Steve Lunsford (875-0907).  Get registered now - the $20 entry fee goes up $5 after 1700, next Saturday, October 14.
Four southern Bay collegiate teams competed in Hampton Roads (Sept 30 - Oct 1) at the Hampton Bay Days Regatta, hosted by Hampton University.  Fordham University won the event, but Old Dominion (2nd), Christopher Newport (3rd), and Hampton U (4th) were in the top half of the 9 team field.  William & Mary finished 7th. 
MURPHY'S LAW:  We racers need one of our kind to become an official weatherperson.  Don't care about storm names,  two hundred year old records, or how many Motel 6's Jim Cantori had been stranded in.    We want the sailing wind forecast ,and we want it for the race course, not the airport!   /S/  Murphy the Racing Beagle, the sailing spirit in us all.
Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-776-9636

Contact Webmasters