FBYC Sailors Win Governor's Cup & HOD Nationals

Michelle Hayes on Wednesday August 7, 2013 01:09PM

FBYC Race Team member Alexander Hanna won the 2013 Governor’s Cup this past Sunday at Ware River Yacht Club.  Alexander was first in the Laser Radial Fleet, which was the largest fleet competing in this year’s regatta.  Under the Deed of Gift for the Governor’s Cup, the winner of the fleet with the most starts at the regatta wins the Governor’s Cup.  This is the first year in its 49 year history it has been awarded to a junior sailor.  Alexander has competed on the FBYC Race Teams for a number of years in both Optis and Lasers.  Completing the clean sweep in the Laser Radial Class, fellow FBYC Race Team members Eric Roos and Graeme Alderman took second and third, respectively. 

2013 VA Governor's Cup Laser Radial

FBYC sailor Latane Montague, sailing with his son and FBYC Race Team member Jackson Montague, captured the Hampton One Design’s National Championship, which was sailed in conjunction with the Governor’s Cup.  FBYC juniors also swept the Opti White Fleet, with Latane Montague II capturing first, followed by Will Street and Ren Moody; and Amanda Almany finished third in the Opti Red Fleet!

2013 VA Governor's Cup Radial Winners

Tags: governorscup

Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-776-9636

Contact Webmasters