Lin Mccarthy on Monday July 15, 2013 12:27PM

ROCKET J,  J70-68,  CREAMPUFF,  AFTERTHOUGHT,  MAD HATTER, AND CHEEKY MONKEY  WIN ONE-DESIGN & PHRF FLEETS AT LEUKEMIA CUP.  After four races over two days, 34 boats settled the 2013 Southern Chesapeake Leukemia Cup competition in the racing fleets.  An additional 22 boats sailed in three Leukemia Cruising fleets, led in the final standings by JOIE DE VIE, OSPREY, and SHERPA.  This was the 15th Annual Southern Chesapeake Leukemia Cup Regatta  and people turned out for a number of event fundraising activities for this worthy cause.   RESULTS:  J24 Class (5 boats): 1.Neil Ford and Lis Biondi, Rocket J; 2.Scott Collins, Kobayashi Maru; 3.Alan Bomar, roundabout.  J70 Class (5 boats): 1.Ron Thompson, J70-68; 2. Vortex Racing, J70-210,; 3. Vortex Racing, GetMyBoatTYPHOON Class (8 boats): 1.Charles Carmichael, Creampuff; 2.Gary Hooper, Kestral; 3.Ned Crockett, LadybugPHRF A (7 boats): 1.Craig Wright, Afterthought; 2.Sam Mitchener, Double Eagle; 3.Leroi Lissenden, Voodoo 2.  PHRF B (5 boats): 1.Bob and Lisa Fleck, Mad Hatter; 2.Brad Davis, Bad Dog; 3.Miles Booth, ShenaniganPHRF C (3 boats): 1.Paul Wash, Cheeky Monkey; 2.Denton Roberts, Ardent; 3.Brad Miller, Schiehallion.   Leukemia Classics (5 boats): 1.Russ Seltzer, Joie de Vie; 2.Dick Cole, Nutkracker; 3.Durwood Usury, Trio.   Leukemia Cruising 1 (10 boats): 1.Steven Bland, Osprey; 2.Robert DeJong, Temptress; 3.Jonathan Moody, Mood Sway.   Leukemia Cruising 2 (7 boats): 1.Michael and Allison Shaner, Sherpa; 2.Chris Shaner, Tranquility; 3.Eddie Fraher, Hedys II.   Only one boat, Juggernaut (Mike Dale), was entered in the PHRF Non-Spin fleet.   Principal Race Officers:  East Course-Brooks Zerkel and West Course-David Hinckle.  Detailed results, including individual race results are available at www.fbyc.net 

To Fiddler’s Green -  Nina Faye Treiber passed from us last Wednesday, July 10, 2013, after a brave battle with a vicious cancer.  Nina was a long time active member of Town Point Yacht Club, Broad Bay Sailing Association and Portsmouth Boat Club.  Nina leaves behind her husband of 42 years, George C. Treiber, and three brothers, Willie E. Shipp, Walter R. Shipp, and Ernie E. Shipp.  Nina and George for many years sailed and sailed and sailed their beautiful yachts, among them their most recent Manta 38, Cheshire Cat.  Nina was the blazing light of fun at every sailing gathering and so many southern Bay racers will remember fondly her Tallulah-like signature greeting, “How arrrre you, Darrrrling?!”  Over the years Nina contributed in a real way behind the scenes to countless racing and sailing endeavors on the southern Bay. We’ll miss you terribly, Nina.

SCREWPILE LIGHTHOUSE CHALLENGE (July 21-23). THIS WEDNESDAY, JULY 17th   at high noon is the deadline for entries.  Click on www.splc.us for forms and info. If you have questions, contact Screwpile Event Chairman, LG Raley at (301) 862-3100.  Time’s awastin’ – join the 70+ boats from all over the Bay and beyond already entered!   The southern Bay contingent has added 3 more:  Greg and Carie Cutter’s (HYC) E770, Gremlin, John and Bev Blais’(HYC) Bene 36.7, Stardancer, and Paul and Julie Ann Wash’s (FBYC) S2 7.9, Cheeky Monkey have joined the now even dozen going from Hampton Roads and the Rappahannock River area.  (The dozen:  Midnight Mistress (HYC); Goin’ (FBYC); Shenanigan (FBYC); Voodoo 2 (HYC); Double Eagle (FBYC); Mad Hatter (FBYC); Meridian X (HYC); Schiehallion (FBYC); Afterthought (FBYC); Gremlin (HYC); Stardancer (HYC); Cheeky Monkey (FBYC)]

Armie Armstrong Memorial Veterans Cup -  Veterans Cup racers gave it a valiant try Saturday – five were able to finish the first race before the time limit expired and/or before Mother Nature began tossing lightning bolts around.  Pete Morrison’s Orion was declared the winner of Vet Cup.  Orion was the only boat in the 6 boat PHRF Non-Spin fleet to beat the time limit.  Orion was sailing non-spin because there were insufficient boats to form a PHRF B fleet.  Christian Schaumloffel, Mirage, finished first ahead of Phil Briggs, Feather, in the 2 boat PHRF A fleet.  Mark Wolfe, Orange Blossom Special finished first ahead of Jeff Rogers, Halaha, in the 3 boat PHRF C fleet.  The Cruising Fleet (middle distance race) race was abandoned.  Principal Race Officer – John Ritter.

This past week, Luna Rossa won her first point as she engaged in her first action on the America’s Cup racecourse.  She sailed unopposed because her opponent for the first day of the Louis Vuitton Cup Challenge Series, Artemis Racing, was still doing structural testing.  On Wednesday, 70 year old Brit, Jeanne Socrates, became the world’s oldest woman solo nonstop unassisted circumnavigator.  She left Victoria Harbour, BC, Canada on October 22, 2012, traveled more than 25,000 nautical miles, and completed the 259 days alone at sea on July 11th, back at Victoria British Columbia.  She is also the first woman solo nonstop unassisted circumnavigator to start from North America. Let’s see, one gazillion dollar AC72 made it’s way around a 12+nm race course . . .  alone, and one 70 year old grandmother made it around the world. . . alone.  Hummmmmmm.

IF you are not able to go to Screwpile, here’s a Hampton Roads event that will be fun - 19th Annual Little Bay Challenge, Saturday, 20 July 2013, sponsored by Portsmouth Boat Club / Broad Bay Sailing Association.  First signal is at 1300.  Post-race party ($10 per person with entry or at skippers meeting) at Rebel Marine at 7:00pm with a band as well as plenty of food and beverages! Sign up online on the BBSA website, race entry is FREE, if received by Friday, July 19! You can also sign up via e-mail, willoughbyracers@broadbaysailing.org  All fleets are non-spinnaker, single headsail only.  SKIPPERS MEETING at 1100 on race day at Willoughby Harbor Marina. For details contact Rick Perkins at (757) 647-7528  or click on www.broadbaysailing.org


    HOMETOWNE REGATTA (Saturday, July 27th) – For info and details please click on www.portsmouthboatclub.org  - on-line registration is also available. Enter now – the PBC folks are firming up plans for the post-race party and awards ceremony with burgers, hot dogs, shirts and hats, and more.

    ADMIRALS CUP (Saturday, August 3rd) – For info and details contact Dan Fox, (703) 414-9549 or York River Yacht Club.  YRYC and Seaford Yacht Club combine to bring racers this race.

    CUT CHANNEL RACE (Saturday, August 3rd ) – For details and info click on www.fbyc.net   Sponsored by Fishing Bay Yacht Club.

    TOM BRADY MASTERS RACE (Sunday, August 11th) – For info, NOR, and details click on www.hamptonyc.com, and “Handicap Fleet Races” in left column, or contact John Blais at (757) 357-0621. Sponsored by Hampton Yacht Club.

    CAPE CHARLES CUP (Saturday and Sunday, August 17th & 18th).  This is the “big magilla” for southern Bay racers and cruisers in August.  Two point-to-point races (Norfolk to Cape Charles and Cape Charles to Hampton), a dinner and party at the overnight stop at beautiful Kings Creek Marina on the Eastern Shore (docking is also available at nearby downtown Cape Charles), and a chance to win the beautiful CCCup trophies.  To make slip reservations for Saturday night at Kings Creek Marina, call (757) 331-8640 – you must be entered in the event to be able to reserve a slip.  If you intend to dock at Cape Charles harbor (in town), call (757) 331-2357.  There will be shuttle van service available to and from Cape Charles Marina to Kings Creek Marina.  FOR ENTRY INFO AND DETAILS, click on www.CCCup.net  or contact event chairman Hank Giffin at (757) 375-1491.   Enter by July 23rd and save $25.

Tags: leukemia_cup

Fishing Bay Yacht Club
Office Mail: Fishing Bay Yacht Club, 2711 Buford Road #309, Bon Air, 23235,
Clubhouse Address: 1525 Fishing Bay Road, Deltaville, VA 23043 (no mail delivery)

Phone Numbers: Club House 804-776-9636

Contact Webmasters